With the action set to get underway in the Leinster and Munster Championship on the weekend of the 11/12th of May which is less than 10 weeks ago we have decided to look at the odds of the respective provinces. We will take you though both provinces and odds for each county below. The odds are got from Paddy Power.
Looking at the Leinster Hurling Championship first which commences on Saturday 11th of May with Galway taking on Carlow at Pearse Stadium and Kilkenny welcoming Dublin to Nowlan Park, both games throw in at 7pm. Micheal Donoghue’s men are the current favourites to claim the Bob O’Keeffe Cup in Leinster, they are 4/6 to do so. Indeed if Galway are to win it would be third Leinster title in a row, having beaten Wexford in 2017 and then Kilkenny in 2018. Next in the betting is Brian Cody’s Kilkenny they are 2/1 to win Leinster for the first time since 2016. Kilkenny are the kings in Leinster roll of honour winning 61 times. At 2/1 many will be licking their lips especially in Kilkenny ! At 9/1 in the betting is Davy Fitzgerald’s Wexford. They are probably the good outside bet. It will more than likely be Davy’s last year at the helm so he will want to go out with a bang and earn some silverware for the county. A big year for Wexford in Leinster will be expected. A Leinster Final appearance at the very least. Wexford last won Leinster in 2004 when John Conran was boss.
Mattie Kenny’s Dublin side are just following Wexford at 10/1 in the outright market. Mattie Kenny would see a Leinster Final appearance a massive success. A tough opening game away in Kilkenny will be a good test to see where they are though. Dublin last won Leinster in 2013 with Clare man Anthony Daly in charge. The newcomers to the round robin this year are Colm Bonnar’s Carlow side who are massive underdogs at 1000/1 to win. The main objective for Carlow will be to try and be competitive if they can pull of a shock it would perhaps come against Dublin or Wexford. Face an uphill task though with the first game away to Galway on May 11th. They have never won Leinster.