Joe Schmidt has named a strong 26 man squad ahead of the November series game with Italy in Chicago on Saturday. However, the squad will be without three leaders with Johnny Sexton, Peter O’Mahony and Rob Kearney not named. Joe Schmidt probably thinking about bigger games against Argentina, New Zealand and the USA.
Kearney has played 86 times for Ireland to date and he was replaced early in the second half of Leinster’s win in the Pro 14 over Treviso. O’Mahony was also in action for his promise playing 80 minutes in their Pro 14 tie win over Glasgow. Johnny Sexton on the other hand was rested for Leinster’s trip to Leinster.Sean O’Brien, CJ Stander, Kieran Marmion and Rory Best have also been left out of the squad to face Italy.
In the forwards 15 players are selected. Finlay Bealham and Quinn Roux are Connacht’s representatives. Leinster will have Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Tadgh Furlong, James Ryan, Rhyd Ruddock, Andrew Porter, Devin Toner and Josh Van Der Flier. Ulster’s Jordi Murphy is also named in the squad. Dave Kilcoyne and Niall Scannell are Munster’s only two players in the forwards.
In the backs 11 players are named. Ulster have three players with Jacob Stockdale, John Cooney and Will Addison who is an uncapped player in the squad. Leinster also have an uncapped player in the squad Ross Byrne, while Jordan Larmour, Garry Ringrose, and Luke McGrath are all named. Munster will have Joey Carbery, Andrew Conway and Darren Sweetnam in the squad. Bundee Ali is Connacht’s sole representative in the backs.